There are six Customer Notification templates, grouped into four types:

  1. Planned Delivery: Planned ETA
  2. Planned Delivery: Updated ETA
  3. Out for Delivery
  4. After Delivery: Completed Delivery
  5. After Delivery: Skipped Delivery
  6. Cancelled Delivery

1. Planned Delivery: Planned ETA

This notification lets your customers know what time window to expect their delivery. 

By default, this template has a 1-hour time window (+30/-30). This means if we estimate your delivery will arrive at 10am, the time window given to your customer will be 9:30am-10:30am.

Trigger: This notification is triggered when you dispatch routes to your drivers and click the "Publish Routes" button. Before you publish your routes, you will see how many drivers and customers will receive the notification. Customers will only receive this once.

2. Planned Delivery: Updated ETA

This notification lets your customers know if the driver can't make the delivery within the originally estimated time window given in the Planned ETA notification.

This template shares its time window with the Planned ETA template.

Trigger: This notification is triggered only if the customer's ETA moves outside of the original time window given in the Planned ETA notification. This can happen if a driver does their route faster or slower than originally expected, or when the dispatcher re-publishes routes that change the ETA to be outside of the original window. Customers can receive this multiple times.

If a driver doesn't use the Driver App, or delays confirming stops complete/skipped until the end of the day, this notification can be sent multiple times!

3. Out for Delivery

This notification lets your customers know when the driver is on the way to their stop. Customers will only receive this once.

By default, this notification uses a 30-minute time window. This means customers are notified when the driver is estimated to arrive in  the next 30 minutes.

For example, if you have set your Out For Delivery Time Window to 30 minutes, as soon as your driver marks a stop complete in the Driver App, the Out for Delivery notification with be automatically sent to any customer whose delivery times fall within the next 30 minutes.

Trigger: Whenever a driver marks a preceding stop as complete in the Driver App (or when the driver clicks "Start" at the beginning of the route), this notification is triggered for customers whose deliveries are estimated to fall within the chosen time window. Customers will only receive this once.

4. After Delivery: Completed Delivery

This notification lets your customers know when their delivery has been completed.

Trigger: This notification is triggered when a driver confirms a stop as complete in the Driver App by clicking the "Confirm Completion" button. Customers will only receive this once.

If a driver doesn't use the Driver App, or delays confirming a stop is complete, the notification will not be triggered properly.

5. After Delivery: Skipped Delivery

This notification lets your customers know when their delivery has been has been skipped.

Trigger: This notification is triggered when a driver confirms a stop as skipped in the Driver App by clicking the "Skip
This Stop" button. Customers will only receive this once.

If a driver doesn't use the Driver App, or delays confirming a stop is skipped, the notification will not be triggered properly.

6. Cancelled Delivery

This notification lets customers know when you have cancelled or unscheduled their delivery.

Trigger: This notification is triggered when the dispatcher either unschedules that stop, or deletes this stop. The notification is triggered when these changes to the route are published. Customers will only receive this once, if at all.

Related Articles:
What are Customer Notifications?
How to Set Up Customer Notifications
Common Issues with Customer Notifications
Managing Email Unsubscribes from Customer Notifications
Re-Ordering Stops with Customer Notifications

Did this answer your question?